Once Upon A Time in Hollywood, The Irishman, and Waves lead the 3rd Annual Hollywood Critics Association Awards Nominations


Annual Hollywood Critics Association

(Los Angeles, CA – November 25, 2019) – The Hollywood Critics Association, formerly known as The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society, is pleased to announce their nominees for the 3rd Annual Hollywood Critic Awards being held at the Taglyan Complex in Los Angeles on January 9th, 2020.

Quentin Tarantino’s Once Upon in Hollywood tops the HCA nominations list with a total of eleven nominations, while Netflix’s The Irishman and A24’s Waves each earn nine. Lulu Wang’s The Farewell, which premiered at Sundance back in January, scored a total of seven nominations. Todd Phillips’ controversial Joker received quite a bit of love from the members of the HCA with a total of seven nominations, including Best Picture and Best Actor for Joaquin Phoenix. Noah Baumbach’s widely praised Marriage Story received six nominations, including Best Actor for Adam Driver and Best Actress for Scarlett Johansson.

Just like in the years past, the members of the Hollywood Critics Society are continuing to support some of the more underrepresented films of the year including Neon’s Wild Rose, Amazon’s Brittany Runs A Marathon, Warner Brothers’ Blinded by the Light, and Roadside Attraction’s The Peanut Butter Falcon, amongst several others.

“The creation and goal of this organization has always been about celebrating film while embracing diversity and elevating underrepresented voices. We believe that our mission is universal, and this is why we changed our name to be reflective of that. As we continue to push for change, we want to be part of the solution, which means slowly building a community of passionate critics who are reflective of the USA and the world as a whole,” states HCA’s Chairman, Scott Menzel.

In total, the Hollywood Critic Association nominated 59 different films, including several independents as well as major studio blockbusters. Netflix received the most nominations with a total of 19 with A24 not too far behind, earning 18, followed by Sony with 16.

A full list of the HCA nominations can be found below:

Best Picture




The Farewell

The Irishman


Jojo Rabbit


Marriage Story

Once Upon A Time in Hollywood



Best Actor


Adam Driver, Marriage Story

Eddie Murphy, Dolemite is My Name

Joaquin Phoenix, Joker

Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood

Taron Egerton, Rocketman


Best Actress


Awkwafina, The Farewell

Charlize Theron, Bombshell

Lupita Nyong’o, Us

Renée Zellweger, Judy

Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story


Best Supporting Actor


Brad Pitt, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood

Joe Pesci, The Irishman

Shia LaBeouf, Honey Boy

Sterling K. Brown, Waves

Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood


Best Supporting Actress


Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers

Laura Dern, Marriage Story

Margot Robbie, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood

Taylor Russell, Waves

Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell


Best Adapted Screenplay


Taika Waititi, Jojo Rabbit

Steven Zaillian, The Irishman

Anthony McCarten, The Two Popes

Scott Silver and Todd Phillips, Joker

Lorene Scafaria, Hustlers


Best Original Screenplay


Bong Joon-ho and Han Jin-won, Parasite

Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Susanna Fogel, and Katie Silberman, Booksmart

Lulu Wang, The Farewell

Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story

Rian Johnson, Knives Out


Best Male Director


Bong Joon-ho, Parasite

Martin Scorsese, The Irishman

Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story

Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood

Taika Waititi, Jojo Rabbit


Best Female Director


Alma Har’el, Honey Boy

Greta Gerwig, Little Women

Lorene Scafaria, Hustlers

Lulu Wang, The Farewell

Olivia Wilde, Booksmart


Best Performance by an Actor or Actress 23 and Under


Kaitlyn Dever, Booksmart

Julia Butters, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood

Noah Jupe, Honey Boy

Roman Griffin Davis, Jojo Rabbit

Thomasin McKenzie, Jojo Rabbit


Breakthrough Performance


Jessie Buckley, Wild Rose

Kelvin Harrison Jr, Waves

Paul Walter Hauser, Richard Jewell

Taylor Russell, Waves

Zack Gottsagen, The Peanut Butter Falcon


Best Cast


Avengers: Endgame

The Irishman

Knives Out

Once Upon A Time in Hollywood



Best First Feature


Brittany Runs A Marathon


Honey Boy

The Peanut Butter Falcon

Queen & Slim


Best Independent Film



The Farewell

Honey Boy




Best Action/War Film



Avengers: Endgame

Captain Marvel

Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw

John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum


Best Animated Film



Frozen II

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World

Missing Link

Toy Story 4


Best Blockbuster


Avengers: Endgame

Captain Marvel

Once Upon A Time in Hollywood


Spider-Man: Far from Home


Best Comedy/Musical



Blinded by The Light

Dolemite is My Name

Long Shot



Best Documentary


American Factory

Apollo 11

Hail Satan?

The Kingmaker

Love, Antosha


Best Foreign Language Film


The Farewell


Pain & Glory


Portrait of a Lady on Fire


Best Horror



Doctor Sleep


Ready or Not



Best Animated or VFX Performance


Josh Brolin, Avengers: Endgame

Robert De Niro, The Irishman

Rosa Salazar, Alita: Battle Angel

Ryan Reynolds, Pokemon Detective Pikachu

Tom Hanks, Toy Story 4


Best Cinematography


Drew Daniel, Waves

Jarin Blaschke, The Lighthouse

Lawrence Sher, Joker

Robert Richardson, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood

Roger Deakins, 1917


Best Costume Design


Arianne Phillips, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood

Julian Day, Rocketman

Jacqueline Durran, Little Women

Ruth E Carter, Dolemite is My Name

Mark Bridges, Joker


Best Editing


Fred Raskin, Once Upon A Time in Hollywood

Lee Smith, 1917

Michael McCusker, Ford V. Ferrari

Thelma Schoonmaker, The Irishman

Yang Jin-mo, Parasite


Best Hair and Makeup


Jeremy Woodhead, Judy

Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan, and Vivian Baker, Bombshell

Nicki Ledermann and Kay Georgiou, Joker

Nicki Ledermann, Sean Flanigan, and Carla White, The Irishman

Lizzie Yianni Georgiou, Tapio Salmi, and Barrie Gower, Rocketman


Best Original Song


Catchy Song, The Lego Movie: The Second Part

Glasgow, Wild Rose

(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again, Rocketman

Into the Unknown, Frozen 2

Speechless, Aladdin


Best Score


Alexandre Desplat, Little Women

Hildur Guðnadóttir, Joker

Michael Abels, Us

Thomas Newman, 1917

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, Waves


Best Stunt Work



Avengers: Endgame

Captain Marvel

Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw

John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum


Best Visual Effects


Allen Maris, Jedediah Smith, Guillaume Rocheron, and Scott R. Fisher, Ad Astra

Dan Deleeuw, Matt Aitken, Russell Earl, and Dan Sudick, Avengers: Endgame

Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon and Nick Epstein, Alita: Battle Angel

Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler, and Dominic Tuohy, 1917

Pablo Herman, Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, and Nelson Sepulveda, The Irishman

About HCA: 

Formerly known as The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society (LAOFCS), the goal of the Hollywood Critics Association is to create a community of passionate and professional critics. They will reflect a varied history and perspective of members from various races and genders that share a passion for Entertainment, including Film and Television.


Contact Us:

Hollywood Critics Association